1. This Board Rocks has been split into two separate forums.

    The Preps Forum section was moved here to stand on its own. All member accounts are the same here as they were at ThisBoardRocks.

    The rest of ThisBoardRocks is located at: CarolinaPanthersForum.com

    Welcome to the new Preps Forum!

    Dismiss Notice

Another U make the Call

Discussion in 'Softball Forum' started by tigercoach, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. tigercoach

    tigercoach Junior Member

    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Runners on 2nd and 3rd 2 outs. Hard ground ball hit up middle. Bounces off pitchers glove directly to Short. Short charges ball into path of runner who is advancing from 2nd. They collide and no play can be completed on the ball. Interference? Obstruction? No Call?

    Keep in mind, the pitcher made an error and knocked the ball to short....
     
  2. cmmguy

    cmmguy *

    Posts:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    I think because it was not the initial play on the ball, you would have the collision called against the defense and runners awarded the next base.
     
  3. cheeze105

    cheeze105 Moderator Staff Member

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    3,958
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Location:
    gastonia, nc
    had this happen in hs ball some years back. plays off of the pitchers glove/body are just like it was hit to you, as they called it then, the defensive player still had the right of way.....or at least thats how they called it then
     
  4. softballphreak

    softballphreak Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    This is a post by BretMan from another site:

     
  5. rhughes18

    rhughes18 umpire

    Posts:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Lewisville
    NFHS ruling casebook 2.47.3 Sit. B - since the ball was deflected by the pitcher, F6 is considered to be making the initial play, and the runner is guilty of interference.

    I aplologize for my previous response which was incorrect.


    Hope this answeres your question.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  6. rhughes18

    rhughes18 umpire

    Posts:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Lewisville
    Retraction from my previous reply


    Again I apologize for my previous reply that I have corrected.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2012

Share This Page